Photo Bartosz Wawryszuk

Utrecht to become 16th zero emission zone in the Netherlands in 2025

Utrecht, following in the footsteps of several other Dutch municipalities, will implement a zero-emission zone from 1 January 2025.

You can read this article in 2 minutes

Effective from the start of next year, the zone will encompass the city centre, which is currently already designated as an environmental zone. The entry requirements for this area will mirror those of other municipalities that have already officially adopted similar restrictions.

Dutch media estimate that by early next year, zero-emission zones will be established in 16 municipalities, falling short of the approximately 30 envisaged in the 2019 climate agreement. However, around 13 more municipalities are expected to introduce them in the coming years.

Utrecht zone requirements

Transitional rules will apply for vans purchased before 2025:

  • From 1 January 2025 to 1 January 2027, both commercial and private vans with at least a Euro 5 emission standard or higher will be permitted to enter the zero-emission zone.
  • From 1 January 2027 to 1 January 2028, only vans with at least a Euro 6 emission standard will be allowed entry.

Regarding heavy goods vehicles (HGVs), trucks with at least a Euro 6 emission class and meeting specific conditions will be permitted to enter the Utrecht zone from 2025.

Specifically, a diesel truck will be allowed entry if:

  • Its code is 15, 16, 19, 23, 26, 27, 31 or special purpose designation SB or SF, and the vehicle is 12 years old or younger. This exemption applies until 1 January 2030 at the latest, or until the vehicle reaches 13 years old from its date of first registration.
  • It is 40 years old or older (classified as a vintage vehicle).